Paradise no more

To summarize, ‘bouncers’ at the famous Paradise Restaurant in Hyderabad behaved in an inhuman manner with a street hawker. And the management encouraged it.
Yes all of them are to blame. But the bigger blame is that “people like us” are indifferent to what goes on in the daily lives of “people like them”. Paradise only keeps the area “clean” for its own customers, I presume. I can live without these Biryanis if such is the collective conscience of the restaurant and the majority of its customers.

Reporting Live

For all those living in Hyderabad, India, Paradise hotel is synonymous to biryani and is one of the most visited restaurants in the city. Located in Secunderabad, the hotel was so iconic that it lent its name to the place where it is. I say ‘was iconic’ because it no longer is, for me anyways.

Last night, I was there with my family celebrating my mother’s birthday. After dinner, we came down and were waiting for our car to be brought around by the valet. There was this one woman who was selling mogra flowers, a street hawker, right near the restaurant.

Now Paradise for whatever reasons has bouncers as security personnel outside its premises. My husband, my cousins and I were just talking about what was an outright lecherous look of a bouncer towards this woman, when another bouncer walked in (at this point, the woman was surrounded by…

View original post 1,095 more words

Leave a Reply

