The Berlin Way : As Gauged in Two Days

 It is 1 am on a Thursday night. You are only two people left in the pub. It is obviously closing time, as you can observe the staff signal to one another to prepare for closing. My host and I continue to enjoy our drink, as the pub now looks ready to close, as the bartender says to the server ( in German), these two are the only ones left. I expected, we would finally be asked to leave the bar. Instead two more people join the two workers and they begin to enjoy their own drink, while we leisurely finished ours. And even as we left, they showed no signs that we were pests on them for staying on almost an hour after closing time.

Later I asked my host as to why we were not asked to leave, as I would have expected this in most parts of the world. And I was told, “ They Don’t do that in Berlin”. Friendly, forthcoming, multicultural is how I would describe this amazing city, which despite its dark history, albeit recent, really seems to live it up. And this is how I was greeted by upon arrival:

I arrived by a flight from Rome, that arrived rather late at night, and finally it was 1 am when I started from the airport (Schonefled the distant one). I had to take the train, get out at a small station, transfer to a night bus, change to a tram and finally walk about 7 mins to reach my host’s house. The journey planner website proclaimed that I could do all that in a little over an hour, and I indeed managed in about that time. In those wee hours on a weeknight, there were people in the trains, buses and trams who I could ask for directions. And there were people on the streets, many food shops were open! In the bus, I noticed a guy speaking in fluent German with a girl and decided to ask him if I was on the right bus. He told me, I am from Budapest and today is my first day in Berlin as well, pointed to the girl and told me, she is from Berlin and will be happy to help you and she obliged. Later I learned that they did not know each other till 2 minutes ago, and he had in fact just turned to her, to ask if she could tell him more about the city. And her style and expression seemed to suggest as though she had known him for long!

In the following two days I gathered, thats just Berlin!

 

2 thoughts on “The Berlin Way : As Gauged in Two Days

Leave a Reply

