Berlin: Did I fly in to Budapest instead?

 30 August 2011, Somewhere on the outskirts of Rome

I was to fly from Rome to Berlin. Instead of the airport shuttle from the central station ( 8 Euros), I decided to take a rather roundabout way that could get me there in about 3 Euros. But there was a catch, I had read about this cheaper bus route on the wikitravel page, but no one in the city seemed to have ever heard of it. But it does exist and you can read more about it here (coming soon). It basically involves going to a station at the far end of the line away from the center, and catching the bus.

There were two other people waiting for the bus who spoke in a language that I didn’t understand and wasn’t Italian either. This and their two large bags, suggested to me that they were indeed foreigners and waiting for the same bus. I decided to make conversation (in the hope that if the bus did not arrive, I will find 2 more people to split a taxi). So I learned that they were mother and son, traveling to Italy from Budapest and the only the son spoke English, and the mother perhaps Hungarian and some German. They were flying to Budapest. Finally the bus arrived and for 15 minutes before the airport stop, we were two the only three, apart from the driver of course ( They don’t have driver-less buses in Italy!). I did take the flight to Berlin!

 4 hrs later…N65 to Hackershmarkt, Berlin

It was 1 am when I started from the airport. After the train I transferred into a night bus where there were exactly 4 people. The two of them who I had a conversation with, told me it was their first few hours in Berlin as well, and they were from, yes, of course Budapest. They just arrived in Berlin for a few months on an internship in some Ministry. The Budapest story doesn’t end there.

My two lovely Berlin guides happened to be from Budapest as well, who I had randomly met two weeks ago , at the Amsterdam airport , where they decided, for whatever reason, to ask me for directions. Maybe they watched me gaze at the train map for 3 full minutes, which perhaps gave them confidence in me. I did manage to tell them that they were to take the same train as me, and by now sure that they weren’t dutch, asked , “Where are you from?” . Off they went, we live in Berlin, but we are from Budapest. We talked for some time and before leaving the lady handed me her card saying if you come to Berlin, we will be happy to show you around. I said in fact, I arrive there in two weeks. And they said before disembarking, do email, I did and my two days in Berlin were special because of Alida and Joseph ,originally from Budapest, but now true Berliners! And did I forget to mention that through them, I met another Hungarian filmmaker, though she grew up in Romania. I would say that’s almost Budapest!

One thought on “Berlin: Did I fly in to Budapest instead?

Leave a Reply

